Connect with us


2023 Igbo Day: Ohaneze To Honour Azikiwe, Ironsi, Ekwueme, Ojukwu, Others



The Ohanaeze Ndigbo Worldwide says they will honour some Igbo Heroes and Special Igbo Allies at its 2023 Igbo Day Celebration schedule to hold on Sept. 29 with posthumous award.

Alex Ogbonnia, the National Publicity Secretary, Ohanaeze Ndigbo Worldwide disclosed this in a statement on Sunday in Enugu.

Ogbonnia said that the event will hold at the Michael Okpara Square, Independence Layout, Enugu.


According to Ogbonnia, those that will receive the post-humous awards include Dr Nnamdi Azikiwe, Maj.-Gen. Aguiyi Ironsi, Chief Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu, Dr Alex Ekwueme, Dr Akanu Ibiam, Col. Adekunle Fajuyi and Chief M.I. Okpara, the former Premier of the Eastern Region.

Others are Gen. Phillip Effiong, defunct, Chief N.U. Akpan, Former Secretary of the Eastern Region, Chief Dennis Osadebay, former Premier of the Mid West of Nigeria and Chief Sam Mbakwe, the former Governor of the Old Imo State.

They also include Dr K. O. Mbadiwe, Prof. Chinua Achebe, His Eminence, Alhaji Ado Bayero, the former Emir of Kano, Chief Adeniran Ogunsanya, Mrs Maryam Babangida, Sen. Francis Ellah, Mazi Mbonu Ojike, Chief Christian Onoh and Chief Mbazulike Amechi.

The awardees include Mrs Margaret Ekpo, Chief Emmanuel Aguma, His Majesty S. N. Woluchem, Justice Charles Onyeama and Chief Richard Ihetu (Dick Tiger).

He said the resolution was reached at the meeting of the National Executive Committee (NEC), held at the Oriental Plaza, Orji, Owerri, Imo State on Aug. 24

Ogbonnia said Prof. Fred Eze, the Chairman of the Central Planning Committee for the 2023 edition of Igbo Day, informed that the event would be chaired by Prince Arthur Eze.

READ ALSO:  BIAFRA MEMORIAL DAY: Eze-Nri hails Ojukwu and Ndigbo (Read Details Here)

According to him, the President General of Ohanaeze Ndigbo Worldwide,Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu, explained that the idea behind the post-humous awards was an expression of the Igbo attachment to excellence, steadfastness, gratitude and deep sense of history.

“At the same time, it serves as an encouragement, motivation and inspiration not only to the family of the deceased icons but to all the younger generations at large.

“As a corollary to the above, the Ohanaeze Ndigbo has set up a Committee on Honours Award and Special Duties, comprising eminent sons and daughters of Igbo land,” he said.

He said the committee which would be headed by Chief Dr E. C. Iwuanyanwu has Chief Okey Nwadinobi as the Secretary with Sen. Adolphus Nwagbara, Sen. Anyim Pius Anyim, Sen. Ken Nnamani, Dr Chukwuemeka Ezeife, Sen. Ben Obi, Prof. Joy Ezeilo, Chief Simon Okeke, Dr. Mrs. Kema Chikwe, Prof. Maurice Iwu, Prof. Pat Utomi, Iyom Josephine Anenih, Prof. Nnenna Otti and Prof. Epiphany Azinge as members.


For Advert placement, music promotion, event coverage, social media & event management, or to share breaking news story with us, contact: +2347062811394 or +2347059964320.